Pipes Feed Preview: TechSpot Reviews and Features & TechPowerUp & Hardware

  1. Lian Li Strimer Plus 24-pin & 8-pin Review

    2020-04-09 21:34:00 UTC

    The Lian Li Strimer Plus takes the original principle of lighting up your otherwise boring ATX cables with RGB colors. Instead of using the fiber optics principle of lighting each strand at its end, the Strimer Plus employs rows of LEDs for brighter, cooler animations for both the 24-pin and 8-pin cables.
  2. Antec Signature Titanium 1000 W Review - Return of the Legend

    2020-04-09 13:00:00 UTC

    The flagship in Antec's Signature line achieves very high performance while running very quietly at the same time. How does it compare to competing high-end offerings from Corsair and Seasonic of similar capacity? Is the Antec Signature Titanium 1000 W worth its $280 price tag?
  3. Fractal Design Celsius+ S28 Prisma AIO Review

    2020-04-08 15:02:41 UTC

    Fractal Design has revamped its venerable line of Celsius liquid coolers with the all-new Celsius+ S28 Prisma. This latest release delivers the topnotch performance you would expect along with ARGB lighting and a solid warranty, which gives it a leg up in the crowded liquid cooler market.
  4. Gaming on a Ryzen 9 4900HS Laptop with a Discrete GPU

    2020-04-08 11:07:00 UTC

    Following up to our review of AMD's new Ryzen Mobile 4000 laptop CPU and having covered productivity performance and touched on gaming using the integrated GPU in our initial review, now it's time to tackle the other main use case for these processors, and that's gaming with a discrete GPU.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  5. Bitspower Touchaqua NJORD 120 PWM Fan Review

    2020-04-07 22:00:44 UTC

    Bitspower's value-oriented brand, Touchaqua, makes a splashing debut on TechPowerUp with the NJORD 120 fan. Available as a triple pack with included PWM and LED control hubs, the Touchaqua NJORD is an RGB fan that aims to offer good performance without breaking any banks.
  6. GeForce GTX 980 Ti Revisited: How does it fare against the GTX 1070 and RTX 2060?

    2020-04-07 19:37:00 UTC

    Today we're revisiting an old friend, the GeForce GTX 980 Ti and we're doing so with a 36 game benchmark covering the 1080p and 1440p resolutions. We're particularly interested to see how it performs against more modern GPUs like the GTX 1070 and the GeForce RTX 2060.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  7. Corsair Dark Core RGB Pro Review

    2020-04-07 13:00:16 UTC

    The right-handed ergonomic Dark Core RGB Pro is the newest revision of Corsair's Dark Core series. The custom PixArt PAW3392 sensor, eight programmable buttons, and 2000 Hz maximum polling rate make it suitable for FPS, RTS, and MMO/MOBA games. Wireless operation is possible in low-latency 2.4 GHz or Bluetooth mode.
  8. ADATA SE760 Portable SSD 1 TB Review

    2020-04-06 18:00:10 UTC

    The ADATA SE760 is a high-performance portable SSD with USB 3.2 10 Gbps support to reach transfer rates of more than 1 GB/s. Inside the durable metal case we found a full-size M.2 drive, with a controller from Realtek and 3D TLC flash from Micron.
  9. Anatomy of a CPU

    2020-04-06 11:12:00 UTC

    The CPU is often called the brains of a computer, and just like the human brain, it consists of several parts that work together to process information. In today's explainer, we'll go over the key elements that make up a CPU and how they all work together to power your computer.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  10. Upcoming Hardware Launches 2020 (Updated)

    2020-04-06 10:55:00 UTC

    This article serves as a continuously updated summary of currently known leaks and official announcements regarding upcoming hardware releases in 2020. We cover and keep track of developments for Intel Comet Lake, AMD Ryzen 4000 Zen 3 & Zen 4. AMD's RDNA2 architecture, Intel's own Xe GPU, chipsets, memory and more.
  11. Scythe Shuriken 2 Review - Small Package, Big Performance

    2020-04-03 13:32:39 UTC

    Scythe looks to up their game in the low-profile CPU cooler market with the Shuriken 2. Like its larger siblings, this ultra-compact cooler delivers exceptional performance for its size with no excess noise because of a well-designed slim 92 mm fan.
  12. Super Flower Leadex III ARGB Gold 550 W Review

    2020-04-02 15:00:44 UTC

    The Super Flower Leadex III ARGB Gold 550 W offers high performance and is very efficient. The RGB lighting and crystal cube connectors of its fully modular cables look nice. However, is it worth paying an additional €24 to get it over the non-RGB Leadex III model of similar capacity?
  13. Cougar Ultimus RGB Keyboard Review

    2020-04-01 14:34:34 UTC

    Cougar has chosen to shy away from Cherry switches in favor of their own branded ones, and designed the Ultimus RGB keyboard to be more in line with their recent angular case offerings. As the name suggests, RGB illumination is supported, with 16.8M colors, and the polling rate is 1000 Hz.
  14. Resident Evil 3 Benchmarked

    2020-04-01 11:02:00 UTC

    Resident Evil 3 is a remake of the PlayStation original released back in 1999, with brand new graphics and reimagined gameplay mechanics. But today we won't delve any deeper on that, but check out how the game performs on PC using a variety of GPUs tested at 1080p, 1440p and 4K.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  15. Ryzen 5 3600 vs. 3600X: Which should you buy?

    2020-04-01 05:02:00 UTC

    We were among the first to review the Ryzen 5 3600 and at $200 we found the 6-core, 12-thread processor a crankin' good deal. In short, it murders the 9600K in core-heavy productivity benchmarks and was right there for the gaming tests. But without question the most popular question we received afterwards was: should you buy the Ryzen 5 3600 or the 3600X?

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  16. Aerocool Aero One Eclipse Review - Style and Function for the Masses

    2020-03-31 13:00:56 UTC

    The Aerocool Aero One Eclipse is a compact ATX chassis with a cool-looking front and solid build construction. On top of that, it offers four fans and a controller that allows for lighting expansion and motherboard control right out of the box.
  17. Resident Evil 3 Benchmark Test & Performance Analysis - 27 Graphics Cards Compared

    2020-03-30 15:00:00 UTC

    Resident Evil 3 is Capcom's upcoming third-person survival horror video game featuring vastly improved graphics. Jill Valentine has received a long overdue upgrade and is now looking hotter than even Lara Croft. We compare both supported APIs, DirectX 11 and DirectX 12, on all recent graphics cards, at 1080p Full HD, 1440p, and 4K.
  18. AMD Ryzen 9 4900HS Review

    2020-03-30 13:00:00 UTC

    Mobile computing has become the next big target at AMD with its new series of Ryzen 4000 APUs. Today we have the first retail Ryzen 9 4900HS laptop on the market to evaluate, so the focus will be on performance to see for the first time how Zen 2 brought across to mobile stacks up against Intel's tried and true line-up.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  19. Half-Life: Alyx Review

    2020-03-29 13:06:00 UTC

    In Half-Life: Alyx, you're not series hero Gordon Freeman. You are Alyx Vance, Gordon's BFF and fellow resistance member. But you're also you: Alyx is a game that can only be played in VR, which turns it into a distinctly more personal experience than previous Half-Life games. That's what makes it special. You can embody Alyx however you choose.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  20. DOOM Eternal Tested on Low-end Graphics Cards

    2020-03-28 12:22:00 UTC

    Doom Eternal keeps receiving praises so we've doubled down on testing by benchmarking 40 GPUs at 1080p using the low quality preset. This works out to be a good guide for gamers who haven't upgraded GPUs in several generations or as a second-hand GPU guide for Doom Eternal.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  21. be quiet! Shadow Rock 3 Review

    2020-03-27 22:00:09 UTC

    be quiet! looks to one-up their competition with the Shadow Rock 3 by delivering a high-quality, asymmetrical heatsink that not only provides reliable performance and low noise levels, but also keeps memory and graphics card clearance in mind. This makes the Shadow Rock 3 a robust offering that will make the no-RGB crowd quite happy.
  22. noblechairs EPIC, HERO, and ICON Gaming Chairs: The Black Edition Review

    2020-03-27 14:00:49 UTC

    noblechairs sent us the new models of their EPIC, HERO, and ICON lines with several interesting changes and very nice, eco-friendly upholstery. Their price tags are not affordable, but you should always keep in mind that a good chair is an investment in your health and can also increase your productivity, or your gaming performance.
  23. Palit GeForce GTX 1650 KalmX Review - The Fastest Passively Cooled Graphics Card

    2020-03-26 22:11:04 UTC

    The Palit GeForce GTX 1650 KalmX uses a completely passive cooling design, which guarantees the perfect noise-free experience. Thanks to NVIDIA's highly energy-efficient Turing architecture, you also get the latest display connectivity and hardware decoding capabilities..
  24. Odin Gaming ZeroGravity XL Mousepad Review

    2020-03-26 14:00:36 UTC

    Odin Gaming is a new player on the mouse pad market and aims to offer a wide variety of pads in many different sizes while keeping things affordable. The Zero Gravity XL may be the smallest one, yet it's still very large on its own.
  25. Comino Otto Master SFF PC (i9-9900K + 2080 Ti) Review - High-end Gaming in a Tiny Volume

    2020-03-25 22:28:00 UTC

    The Comino Otto puts the system builders of the world on notice by offering what is one of the best-designed prebuilt small-form-factor PCs around. Considering it's only 14 liters in overall volume and fully water-cooled, this latest SFF PC will turn more than a few heads for more than a few reasons.
  26. Team Group MP33 512 GB M.2 NVMe SSD Review - Zero Thermal Throttling

    2020-03-25 14:55:15 UTC

    Team Group's MP33 SSD is based on 96-layer TLC NAND from Toshiba paired with a new Phison controller that achieves impressive sustained writes and has the best thermals we've ever seen. Even when fully loaded, without airflow, there is no thermal throttling.
  27. How ARM Came to Dominate the Mobile Market

    2020-03-25 11:19:00 UTC

    Whenever you think of mobile computing hardware, ARM is likely the first company that comes to mind, or it should be. While historically Intel has been recognized as the leader in chip making, for years ARM slowly carved into a niche that eventually reached an inflection point, where computing devices no longer needed to be faster, but they needed to be more efficient and portable.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  28. DOOM Eternal PC Graphics Benchmark

    2020-03-25 05:28:00 UTC

    Doom Eternal is the series' latest demon-killing romp, bringing more weapon variety, a plethora of new demons to face off against, and exciting new environments to explore. Today we're taking 25 graphics cards to see how they perform in Doom Eternal using the latest optimized GPU drivers.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  29. Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-5000 MHz CL18 2x 8 GB Review - 5 GHz DDR4, the Fastest in the World

    2020-03-24 22:00:00 UTC

    Corsair delivers the worlds fastest memory kit: the Corsair Vengeance LPX 5000 MHz. Validated for high-end MSI X570 motherboards, this groundbreaking kit promises to test the idea of what makes a good Ryzen memory kit. Can it overcome the infamous IF latency penalty?
  30. Cooler Master MasterFan MF120 Halo Review

    2020-03-24 17:21:00 UTC

    Cooler Master wants to leverage their factory and design capabilities to bring out highly addressable RGB LED fans without breaking the bank. The MasterFan MF120 Halo has 24 LEDs per fan and supports all mainstream motherboard lighting solutions while aiming to offer a hybrid balance of static pressure and airflow.
  31. XFX Radeon RX 5600 XT THICC III Ultra Review

    2020-03-23 22:36:00 UTC

    The XFX Radeon RX 5600 XT THICC III Ultra comes with a large triple-fan cooler that's still dual-slot and achieves nearly inaudible noise levels at full gaming load. The card also features a large overclock out of the box, dual BIOS, and idle fan stop.
  32. HiFiMAN TWS600 Review

    2020-03-23 15:00:00 UTC

    The HiFiMAN TWS600 is the newest set of true-wireless earphones from HiFiMAN. The TWS600 promises 5.5 hours of playback time, has an extended Bluetooth range, and is competitively priced at $199. We put the TWS600 to the test to see how it fares against competitors.
  33. DOOM Eternal Benchmark Test & Performance Analysis - 26 Graphics Cards Compared

    2020-03-20 11:58:00 UTC

    DOOM Eternal is the long-awaited sequel to the epic DOOM series. There's even more carnage, and gameplay is super fast-paced. Built upon the id Tech 7 engine, visuals are excellent, and graphics performance is outstanding. We tested the game on all modern graphics cards at Full HD, 1440p and 4K Ultra HD.
  34. 25 Great Games You Can Play on Laptops and Budget PCs

    2020-03-20 11:10:00 UTC

    We often talk about the latest and greatest graphics cards and playing games at the highest settings, but there are times when that's simply not an option. In times like these, it's nice to have a library of fun games that won't melt our processors. That's why we've compiled this list of 25 great (but less demanding) games we can wholeheartedly recommend.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  35. Fractal Era ITX Review

    2020-03-19 14:19:00 UTC

    The Fractal Era ITX is a refreshing new chassis from the brand that brought you years of plenty of Define case variants. With its cool looks and material mix of aluminum in combination with wood or glass, it will surely look pretty spiffy next to your monitor.
  36. AZIO Retro Classic BT Keyboard Review

    2020-03-18 21:23:00 UTC

    We round off our coverage of AZIO's Retro keyboard lineup with the Retro Classic BT in the Artisan edition. It features a genuine leather top cover, zinc alloy frame with a copper finish, and matching typewriter-style keycaps to provide for a stunning mechanical wireless keyboard with battery life measured in months!
  37. XFX Radeon RX 5600 XT THICC II Pro Review

    2020-03-17 22:20:00 UTC

    The XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II is priced very reasonably at $290, just $10 above MSRP, yet comes with a decent overclock out of the box and a solid dual-slot, dual-fan cooler that delivers whisper-quiet noise levels. XFX has also listened to feedback and made various improvements to their heatsink.
  38. Wentai Aidan 1616 W Review - The Corsair AX1600i Challenger?

    2020-03-16 17:22:00 UTC

    Wentai is making an impressive entry into the PSU market with the digital Aidain line, going right up against the Corsair AX1600i. The Aidan T1616 uses a cutting-edge platform with many similarities to the AX1600i. Is the Aidan T1616 able to take the lead from Corsair's AX1600i, though?
  39. Anatomy of a Graphics Card

    2020-03-16 11:09:00 UTC

    Almost every desktop PC has one. They have billions of transistors, can use hundreds of watts of power, and can cost over a thousand dollars. They are masterpieces of electronic engineering and generate extremes in product loyalty and disdain... and yet the number of things they normally do can be counted one just one hand. Welcome to the world of graphics cards!

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  40. Sabrent Rocket Q 1 TB M.2 NVMe SSD Review

    2020-03-13 20:10:00 UTC

    Priced at $130 for the 1 TB version, the Sabrent Rocket Q SSD is one of the most affordable SSDs on the market. It uses a new Phison E12S controller, which has better thermal performance and can operate with smaller DRAM cache. Write speeds are impressive due to 250 GB of pseudo-SLC cache.
  41. The Best Graphics Cards 2020

    2020-03-12 05:07:00 UTC

    If you're looking to buy a new graphics card today, don't mind all the testing, marginal FPS gains, power consumption figures, or overclocking potential. TechSpot's Best Graphics Cards is written to get a simple question answered: Given a certain budget, which is the graphics card you should buy?

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  42. Galax GeForce RTX 2070 Super HOF 10 Year Anniversary Review

    2020-03-11 21:00:00 UTC

    The Galax RTX 2070 Super HOF 10 Year comes with a large overclock on both GPU and memory, it's actually the fastest RTX 2070 we have ever tested, almost matching the RTX 2080. Thanks to a large power limit increase and 16 Gbps memory chips from Samsung, manual overclocking works great, too.
  43. Gryphon Tower Mesh WiFi System Review

    2020-03-11 14:52:00 UTC

    Gryphon is a relatively new company aiming to challenge the establishment of consumer-grade networking. We check out the Gryphon Tower today, which aims to combine extensive network security features with excellent performance, mesh network compatibility, and ease of installation and monitoring!
  44. SteelSeries Rival 3 Mouse Review

    2020-03-10 22:00:00 UTC

    The SteelSeries Rival 3 is the successor to the Rival 100/110 budget ambidextrous gaming mice. The Rival 3 comes with a new sensor (TrueMove Core), updated main button switches (60 million clicks), reduced weight, and improved Prism RGB lighting.
  45. XPG Battlecruiser Review

    2020-03-10 14:00:00 UTC

    The XPG Battlecruiser is the larger of the two initial case offerings from ADATA XPG, with the smaller Invader making an excellent first impression. This means the Battlecruiser has some big shoes to fill, especially as the $150–$200 segment tends to attract a demanding crowd.
  46. Big Boy Heatsinks: The 64-core AMD Threadripper 3990X Cooler Test

    2020-03-10 11:09:00 UTC

    After reviewing the Threadripper 3990X, it was made clear the 64-core/128-thread beast from AMD lays waste to every HEDT part we have ever tested. It's an insane productivity CPU, that we pushed to extremes to torture a few motherboards just this week. Then we thought, why not try out some big bulky coolers as well?

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  47. Fnatic React Gaming Headset Review

    2020-03-09 22:01:00 UTC

    Fnatic React is the first gaming headset released by this world-famous esports brand. It's a simple analog headset with no extra features or gimmicks. It is laser-focused on what's important: sound and microphone quality, as well as wearing comfort.
  48. ADATA SE800 Portable SSD 1 TB Review

    2020-03-09 14:06:00 UTC

    The ADATA SE800 is an NVMe based external SSD, which means it offers much better performance than earlier external storage. In our testing we saw speeds of up to 1 GB/s, which, paired with the 1 TB capacity on the SE800, makes it an excellent choice if you want to move a lot of data around.
  49. Threadripper 3990X TRX40 VRM Torture Test feat. Asus ROG Zenith II Extreme Alpha

    2020-03-09 11:14:00 UTC

    Today we're going to perform some AMD TRX40 motherboard VRM thermal testing using the powerful 64-core Threadripper 3990X. To apply load we're using Blender with the system running at stock and overclocked to 3.8 GHz. The typical power draw for this system is around 450 watts, but once overclocked we are hitting as much as 850 watts. Toasty!

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  50. CORSAIR and EKWB Water Blocks Tested on GeForce RTX 2080

    2020-03-06 22:00:39 UTC

    Today, we take a look at two different watercooling solutions for the NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 from CORSAIR and EKWB. Both offer a full-cover water block with design twists of their own, and both are put through the full course of testing, including coolant flow restriction and GPU core and VRM thermal testing.
  51. Alphacool Eisbaer Aurora 360 Review

    2020-03-06 14:00:00 UTC

    Alphacool goes all in on RGB lighting with their all-copper Eisbaer Aurora 360. Not only does this all-in-one liquid cooler deliver reliable performance, but it also allows for optional expansion via quick release fittings and support for the company's Eiswolf product line.
  52. Best Budget Gaming Monitors 2020

    2020-03-06 11:05:00 UTC

    If you're tight on cash but want a really good monitor, this is the article for you. For putting together this buying guide we narrowed down our options to displays that give you the best experience for the lowest possible price.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  53. Palit GeForce RTX 2080 Super Gaming Pro OC Review

    2020-03-05 20:22:00 UTC

    Palit's RTX 2080 Super Gaming Pro OC is a new variant with a triple-slot, triple-fan cooler, to replace their dual-fan designs. It delivers solid temperatures and noise levels. At $720, the card is priced very reasonably, yet includes a factory overclock, idle-fan-stop, and backplate.
  54. Millitronic HIVE Wireless Docking Kit Review

    2020-03-05 08:43:00 UTC

    Wireless AD networks came and went without as much as a buzz in the consumer space, and yet there is more here to see before completely dismissing it. Millitronic certainly agrees, with their HIVE wireless docking station able to connect a laptop to an external display wirelessly at low latency, while adding some more tricks on top.
  55. 15+ Titles Every PC Gamer Should Own

    2020-03-04 11:07:00 UTC

    There are thousands upon thousands of PC games out there, and hundreds of good ones. However, some have stood out over the years, and cemented themselves as absolute must-haves in their respective genres. These are 15 titles we feel every PC gamer should have in their digital library.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  56. Cherry MX Board 5.0 Review

    2020-03-03 23:53:00 UTC

    We expand our coverage of Cherry first-party keyboard offerings with a detailed look at the MX Board 5.0. With five switch options and a fairly unique ergonomic perspective via a wrist rest (yes, you read it right), the MX Board 5.0 is a 108-key unit that has white backlighting and onboard controls, too.
  57. PC Build Guide: $700 Gaming System on a Budget (Updated)

    2020-03-03 08:40:00 UTC

    In our latest PC Build Guide update, we take a look at delivering the best bang for the buck gaming PC we can at the $700 price point. No cutting corners, no compromises, this build will give users a jumping-off point for the best-possible performance without burning a hole in their wallet.
  58. The Best Gaming Monitors

    2020-03-03 06:03:00 UTC

    PC gamers can enjoy today's competitive pricing in CPUs, graphics cards and memory, and build a highly capable gaming machine without having to overpay or spend a ton of money (unless you want to). We're glad to report this PC builder's friendly environment extends to gaming monitors as well, with dozens of great options at record-low prices for the kind of technology that you get.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  59. 1MORE True Wireless ANC Review

    2020-03-02 21:35:00 UTC

    After a successful premiere in the True Wireless Stereo (TWS) headphone market, 1MORE launched a new pair of TWS headphones. This time around, they're aiming for the very top, and they're bringing some serious firepower to the battle.
  60. ThunderX3 Yama7 Series Ergonomic Chair Review

    2020-03-02 15:48:00 UTC

    The ThunderX3 Yama7 chair costs a bomb, but the design stands out from the crowd and is very comfortable. Breathable, high-tensile mesh fabric ensures flexibility and durability, and also included are ergonomic features, like a fully adjustable headrest and integrated lumbar support.
  61. One Power Hungry GPU: AMD Radeon Vega 56 Revisited in 2020

    2020-03-02 11:06:00 UTC

    Today we're looking at AMD's Radeon RX Vega 56, originally a $400 product that was meant to compete against the GTX 1070 in mid 2017. If you're wondering why is this relevant, we'd say the main reason is that to this very day, you can buy a Vega 56 graphics cards for as little as $250.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  62. EK-Quantum Magnitude CPU Water Block Review

    2020-02-28 21:22:00 UTC

    EK Water Blocks finally launches the EK-Quantum Magnitude, a halo CPU block with customization cues from the EK-Supremacy EVO from yesteryear that kicks things up a notch. With a clear focus on design, material choice, performance, and customization, it aims to offer a lasting CPU cooling solution for years to come!
  63. Durgod Taurus K320 TKL Keyboard Review

    2020-02-28 19:06:00 UTC

    The Durgod Taurus K320 TKL keyboard offers many switch options, including several rare Cherry variants. Build quality on this 87-key tenkeyless keyboard is good, and the software lets you easily customize the keyboard through remapping and macros.
  64. Radeon RX 580 vs. GeForce GTX 1060: Which Was the Better Investment?

    2020-02-28 11:23:00 UTC

    Today we've revisiting the age old battle between the Radeon RX 580 and GeForce GTX 1060, though this battle really began for AMD with the Radeon RX 480. This GPU was released in June 2016, nearly four years ago which is crazy in GPU years and more so considering this part is technically still on sale today and is sold in fairly large quantities.

    Read Entire ArticleRead Comments

  65. ASUS ROG Strix Impact II Review

    2020-02-27 20:17:00 UTC

    ASUS updates their Strix line of mice with the Strix Impact II, an ambidextrous gaming mouse featuring PixArt's 3327 sensor, a weight of 79 g, a pivoted button mechanism, and ASUS' exclusive main button switch hotswap socket design allowing one to extend the lifespan of the mouse.
  66. ICY DOCK ToughArmor MB720M2K-B Review

    2020-02-26 20:48:00 UTC

    The ICY DOCK ToughArmor MB720M2K-B is part of their high-end line of enclosures, with this one specifically engineered for up to four M.2 NVMe drives. It is clearly aimed at mission-critical systems where reliability, uptime, and peace of mind are highest on the list of attributes to check off.
  67. CORSAIR K70 RGB MK.2 Low Profile Keyboard Review

    2020-02-26 13:28:00 UTC

    A long overdue review in the making, we finally check out CORSAIR's low-profile mechanical keyboard. It was the first on the market with Cherry's recent low-profile switches, including the MX Low Profile Speed switch, and aims to bring all the features of the excellent K70 RGB MK.2 to those wanting a smaller full-size keyboard.
  68. CORSAIR Hydro X Series XD3 Pump/Reservoir Combo Review

    2020-02-25 15:33:00 UTC

    CORSAIR adds to their Hydro X series of custom watercooling products with their second pump/reservoir combo. The all-new Hydro XD3 uses a Xylem DDC and a lower profile form factor to complement the taller Hydro XD5 that used the Xylem D5, and adds more RGB while sticking with the same excellent installation options.
  69. Deepcool Gamer Storm Assassin III Review

    2020-02-24 15:38:00 UTC

    Deepcool has delivered a monster with the Gamer Storm Assassin III. This latest air cooler is comprised of two 140 mm fans and a massive dual-stack heatsink, leaving the ARGB lighting craze behind. Instead, Deepcool has focused on offering users maximum performance, which the cooler handily delivers.
  70. Fractal Define 7 Review

    2020-02-21 20:58:00 UTC

    The Fractal Define 7 is the seventh generation of the Define R series of cases. It sports a new, clean branding, loads of new features and plenty of enhancements over the previous version without compromising on the core functionality and design that has defined the series this last decade.
  71. Fractal Define 7 Case Review: High Build Quality & Thermal Challenges

    2020-02-20 15:00:00 UTC

    Fractal Define 7 Case Review: High Build Quality & Thermal Challenges
    We’ve been hot and cold on Fractal over the past couple years. Their whole lineup has had consistently high build quality, but our opinions have ranged from the highly-rated Meshify cases that have excellent cooling potential (with some aftermarket fans added in) down to the highly-priced and unexciting Define S2 Vision RGB. Today we’re reviewing the Define 7, successor to the Define R6, a case that fell on the positive end of that scale in our review. We’re sure there’s some reason for Fractal dropping the “R,” but we neglected to ask. As soon as the Define 7 was out of the box, we noticed how lightly tinted the glass was. The Define 7 TG comes in both dark tint and light tint versions, and the light tinted version with a white interior is a stark contrast to almost every other tinted glass case we’ve reviewed. For whatever reason, case manufacturers have tended towards extremely dark glass tints for years, which is a step back from the transparent plastic windows that were more common in the olden days (a decade ago). The choice is there for customers who want the dark tint, but we much prefer clear glass that lets the white interior shine.
  72. Corsair 220T Airflow Case Review: Shortening the ATX Form Factor

    2020-02-15 21:22:00 UTC

    Corsair 220T Airflow Case Review: Shortening the ATX Form Factor
    In the proud tradition of the Phanteks P400A, the Lian Li PC-O11 Air, and the entire Cooler Master HAF family, the Corsair iCUE 220T RGB Airflow is another case that has the bravado to put “airflow” right in the name. As we’ve seen in the past, though, sometimes a name is just a name, and it’s our job to put that to the test. The original H500P was an example of this, and it tucked its tail between its legs and released a fix later. The 220T comes in black and white and in two variants, “airflow” and “tempered glass,” of which we’ve received the former for review. The tempered glass version is $10 more and has a glass front panel rather than a steel one. We’re more interested in this one, clearly, and so we’ll be reviewing the 220T Airflow today.
  73. Antec P120 Crystal Case Review: Lian Li O11 Dynamic Lookalike

    2020-02-04 18:12:00 UTC

    Antec P120 Crystal Case Review: Lian Li O11 Dynamic Lookalike
    The last case we reviewed from Antec was the P8, so we started out with very low expectations for the P120. The P8 performed badly, but its greatest offense was being a boring version of the same chassis everyone was selling that year. It had the feel of a cheap rebrand from an old company (by PC hardware standards) that was unwilling or unable to keep producing the weird concepts that they did in The Old Days, like the Skeleton or the Razer Cube. The P120 Crystal we’re reviewing today is a mixture of solving and doubling down on that problem, by making a relatively exotic chassis that just so happens to look the same as an existing one. The Antec P120 Crystal takes some obvious inspiration from the Lian Li O11. That’s the first thing we noticed when we saw this case, and that’s why we bought one to review. It doesn’t use the same tooling, it doesn’t even use exactly the same layout, but one glance is all it takes to reveal the inspiration. We regard the original O11 Dynamic and the O11 Dynamic XL highly--check our reviews for more in-depth analysis--which makes it hard to accept a design that borrows so freely from them. That doesn’t make the P120 a bad case, and we’ll do our best to give it a fair shake.
  74. DIYPC Zondda-O Case Benchmarks: Sorting by Lowest Price

    2020-01-30 05:13:00 UTC

    DIYPC Zondda-O Case Benchmarks: Sorting by Lowest Price
    The DIYPC Zondda-O is a Newegg sort-by-lowest-price staple. It currently costs $34, falling in a price bracket that’s almost entirely occupied by other cases from DIYPC, but the price fluctuates constantly by $1-$2 in a way that suggests it exists on the razor’s edge of profitability. The most expensive enclosure they have for sale directly from Newegg is only $80, for an obviously HAF-inspired “full tower” called the Skyline 06. We’ve never mentioned DIYPC before this month, but over the years we’ve watched them quietly refining the art of selling cases that look twenty years out of date for alarmingly low prices. We should note that we copied the below spec sheet directly from DIYPC’s website, so we can’t vouch for the “radiation protection design, safe and environmental.” Use with radioactive material at your own risk.
  75. AMD Ryzen 5 1600 AF CPU Review & Benchmarks: Best CPU Under $100 in 2020

    2020-01-05 15:26:00 UTC

    AMD Ryzen 5 1600 AF CPU Review & Benchmarks: Best CPU Under $100 in 2020
    This isn’t a revisit of the old AMD Ryzen 5 1600 – it’s a review of the new variant, named the AMD Ryzen 5 1600 “AF” by the community, dubbed as such for its SKU change from AE to AF. The AMD R5 1600 AF is a brand new CPU with an old, old name from 2017. It’s mostly an R5 2600, in that it’s a slower variant of the Zen+ CPU from the 2000-series, but with a 1000-series name. AMD silently released the 1600 AF as an $85 option, but it’s on 12nm instead of 14nm and carries other 2nd-Gen Ryzen features. In today’s review of the new $85 processor, we’ll look at performance versus the original R5 1600, the R5 2600, and overclocking performance, since a 12nm 1600 AF should do about the same OC as a 12nm Ryzen 2000 part, which were typically 100-200MHz higher than the 1000-series. The R5 1600 AF is a weird, weird refresh. It’s mostly odd that AMD didn’t just name it Ryzen 3 3300X or Ryzen 5 3550. They already have the 3000 family with Zen+ architecture and the 3000G with Zen1 architecture, so it wouldn’t dilute the naming and it’d be a much more successful, higher selling product with a lot of media fanfare. Instead, it just sounds like a two-year-old part, but it’s really not. We can’t fault AMD for its naming and it doesn’t particularly bother us, it’s just a bit odd from a marketing standpoint. Maybe AMD doesn’t…
  76. Lian Li Lancool II Case Review & Benchmark: Build Quality, Noise, Thermals

    2019-12-07 06:46:00 UTC

    Lian Li Lancool II Case Review & Benchmark: Build Quality, Noise, Thermals
    The Lian Li Lancool II is another budget case effort from Lian Li--budget relative to the rest of Lian Li’s past cases, at least. It’s the successor to the identically MSRP-ed $90 Lancool One, a case that we were mildly pleased with at the time but lacked the wow factor of Lian Li’s O11 line. The white version is $5 more, but Lian Li wisely sent the black one for review. The Lancool II has already gained a few points in our book just by being a “sequel” case that doesn’t look the same or worse than the original. In 2018, the year the Lancool One launched, our award for Best-Worst Case Trend went to pointless refreshes. There were some fit and finish issues with our review sample, but let’s cover the features of the case first to provide some context. 
  77. MSI Listened to Us: MSI RX 5700 XT Evoke OC Thermal Pad Official Revision

    2019-11-20 05:28:00 UTC

    MSI Listened to Us: MSI RX 5700 XT Evoke OC Thermal Pad Official Revision
    Other than the high heat felt by GDDR6 on MSI’s initial Evoke, our criticism over MSI’s poorly positioned and sized thermal pads also started some fires at the company. Shortly after our coverage, a few members of the MSI video card team flew out to us to discuss the issue, decisions that were made, and talk about the best way to fix it while remaining within the logistical confines of manufacturing. MSI had confirmed our testing, but also told us that it was working on solutions. Today, we’re revisiting the MSI Evoke to see if those promises have been met. The original issue was that MSI used thermal pads which were only about 40% of the size of the top two memory modules, but also had poor mounting pressure and pads located far off-center. Further, the backplate was necessary to this test, as it acted like a thermal trap without any thermal interface between it and the PCB. The MSI Evoke ended up with the worst GDDR6 thermals out of all the partner 5700 XT cards we tested when noise-normalized and was among the worst even when auto. The 5700 XT reference was the only one worse.
  78. AMD Threadripper 1920X Benchmark in 2019: $200 TR vs. R5 3600, R9 3900X, & More

    2019-10-27 20:15:59 UTC

    AMD Threadripper 1920X Benchmark in 2019: $200 TR vs. R5 3600, R9 3900X, & More
    The Threadripper line launched back in 2017, landing between the brand new and impressive Ryzen desktop chips and the extra high core count Epyc server CPUs. This launch lineup included the 8C/16T 1900X, the 12C/24T 1920X, and the 16C/32T 1950X. These were production-targeted CPUs (even more so than the main Ryzen line), best suited to individuals or small businesses doing rendering or heavily multithreaded tasks that didn’t merit a full Epyc server system. The 1920X launched at $800, but two years later it can be found on Amazon for 1/4th of that price. Today we’re going to figure out whether it’s worth even that. We’ve picked several $200-ish CPUs to compare. The main competitor we’re considering is AMD’s own R5 3600, a chip with half the cores and half the threads. The newest Intel part we have that’s close to $200 is the 9600K, but it’s currently $240 on Amazon and therefore isn’t really a fair comparison. The i5-9400 is $200 new on Amazon and Newegg, but we don’t own one--we haven’t tested something that low on the Intel product stack since the slightly lower-spec i5-8400, so we’ll be using that as a stand-in, with the caveat that the 9400 would perform slightly better. Used and outdated PC hardware is almost always seriously overpriced and the 12C/24T Xeon E5-2697 v2 is no exception, but since it’s almost down to $200 on ebay and has the same core/thread count as the 1920X, we’ll also consider it.
  79. PowerColor RX 5700 XT Red Devil Review vs. Sapphire Nitro+, Gaming X, & More

    2019-10-19 05:27:00 UTC

    PowerColor RX 5700 XT Red Devil Review vs. Sapphire Nitro+, Gaming X, & More
    The most common component review request from our viewers over the past few months has been the RX 5700 XT Red Devil. Powercolor was never able to get stock to send us one, but we finally sniped one when it popped-up on Amazon. This will likely be the last 5700 XT we review, unless something major comes out – or a THICC III – so we’ll finally have a fairly full picture of how the entire stack aligns compared to the much-praised RX 5700 XT Red Devil from PowerColor. The Red Devil has easily been the most universally recommended in comment threads and for review, and so we’ll be benchmarking it for thermals, noise, and build quality in today’s review. We bought the Powercolor RX 5700 XT Red Devil for about $440 on Amazon, which puts it into the most direct engagement with Sapphire’s Nitro+ or MSI’s Gaming X variants of the RX 5700 XT GPU. We’ll be looking at the PowerColor card for thermals, acoustics, power budget, and fan/frequency response.
  80. NZXT's Smart Device Doesn't Do Anything | CAM ANR Deep-Dive

    2019-10-11 20:31:00 UTC

    NZXT's Smart Device Doesn't Do Anything | CAM ANR Deep-Dive
    Our old coverage of the NZXT H700i included a lengthy section on what we deemed a bug-filled fusion of hardware and software that would be a waste of money even if it worked perfectly, with that device finding its way into a trashcan during the review. That was the “Smart Device” version 1, which was reclaimed from the trashcan for exactly this content piece. The intended function of this little black box was to automatically modulate fan speeds to find an optimal balance between noise and thermal performance, relying on internal microphones to gauge the noise-to-thermal response. In practice, its function is to raise the MSRP of the H700 and H710 by an average of $30. We didn’t actually get any performance numbers for the original smart device because we could never successfully coach it through the software calibration phase, something NZXT claims to have fixed in the two years since. Today, we’re testing to see if the smart device is still a net negative for the intelligence of the H-series cases. It’s been a couple years now since we reviewed the H700i, and to NZXT’s credit, they do sell a cheaper version of the case without the device, so we’ll pause our diatribe there for now. Upon review of the H700i, we asked for an H700d -- or dumb, as dubbed by our Patreon community -- that would rid of the smart device and allow a lower price-point. This was eventually granted across the case family, and we’ve been…